KING GIZZARD & THE LIZARD WIZARD // PAPER MACHE DREAM BALLOON

I’m getting back into the groove of writing album reviews. This one is for all my friends who keep asking for new music!

spotify:album:2JBYEDQtyCpo9M6otaJLmI

If you’re unfamiliar with this oversized Aussie band, check out their other albums as well. You will find that their discography tells a story that they are not committed to one sound. King Gizz have produced albums that range from psych rock pop-esque to garage punk. This newest album is no exception to their lack of interest in committing to one identifiable, singular sound. The result is an acoustic, psych-folk album that transports me to 1968 every time I put it in my ears.

The band really embraced their new found freedom of their acoustic sound– managing to bring in just about every instrument under the sun. I haven’t heard this much flute on an album (and liked it) since Jethro Tull!

Top Tracks:

TrapDoor – This is as close to their previous albums as we’ll get on this album. Which, I’m not complaining about (though miss). This song puts me in a little bit of a trance and transports me in time.

The Bitter Boogie – Possibly my favorite track on the album. This song, while bluesy, reminds me of Woods and Thee Oh Sees. The harmonics are on point.

Time = $$$ – Beach psych folk rock. A musical unicorn if you ask me.

One thought on “KING GIZZARD & THE LIZARD WIZARD // PAPER MACHE DREAM BALLOON

Leave a Reply

