LET IT GO // FOSSIL COLLECTIVE

 

Let it go while a beautiful song happens to also be one of a few “themes” I’m focusing on during my yoga training. Life is too short to hold on to things that don’t serve. Letting something go to just fall into place is hard, the act of surrendering is uncertain and the uncertain is scary.  But, what is worse is forcing something to happen (be it a pose, a relationship or a goal) just means it isn’t right and you are not listening to your self — your true self. Maybe it’s not right today, maybe it’s not going to be right ever, but acknowledging that something is not coming with equal parts ease and effort (sthira and sukha) is a huge part of the battle.

I myself am an “emotional hoarder” (among other things) and therefore letting go takes takes a lot of effort. When I listen, and I mean truly listen to what I need and not what I want, I know it’s more effort and energy to hold on. As I move through this process I’m coming to realize I am a lot stronger than I thought I was and I have so much to give. Walls are coming down people and this is going to sound weird coming from someone who used to cringe when people who I wasn’t close to would go in to hug me, but hugs are probably my favorite thing right now. A solid 8-10 second, eyes closed hug. Weird, right?

Let it all go and you may open yourself up to the abundance this life has to offer.

Leave a Reply

