LOCAL NATIVES // SUNLIT YOUTH

sunlit-youth-640x640-640x640Sunlit youth, the third album from Local Natives is like most third albums — an exploration of evolution of their music. And yes, this is a pretty fine exploration! This album sounds like the band (notorious hooks and harmonies) with a little extra synth pop and a little less of their their organic, Cali warmth.

The album’s theme is change; to shed skin and grow into new versions of yourself. It couldn’t be more timely. This year has been a year of so much skin shedding and growth into the kind of person I want to be, the person I know I can be.

I was really sad to miss Local Natives this year when  they were in town this weekend. This is the first time in over 4 years I’ve missed them, but I promise it was for an acceptable reason… I went to go see the 1960’s Psych band Strawberry Alarm Clock.

Notable Tracks:

Coins – This is my hands down favorite song on the album. The song itself and the lyrics are just so relatable.

Fountain Of Youth

Mother Emanuel

Past Lives

Leave a Reply

